eTAs are now available to citizens of the Philippines and 12 other countries... with a hitch

by Ronalee Carey Law

June 2023

Announcements from IRCC continue! Since starting this blog 10 years ago, this is the first time I’ve put out three newsletters in one month. And all in the first week!

The electronic travel authorization (eTA) program has been expanded to 13 countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

The program is only open to applicants who have a valid US visa or who were issued a Canadian visa in the past 10 years. All others must continue to apply through the regular visa process. Further, the eTA is only for air travel. Individuals coming by vehicle, train, or boat must still have a visa.